Skip to content

A change of priorities

November 13, 2013

It had been six weeks since I last cycled to work. With the arrival of a baby in the house our lives are barely recognisable from before with all of the time and energy required to cycle disappearing into the all-consuming baby vacuum. Recently, however, I have been able to juggle some my of my work commitments (‘juggle’ is a business euphemism for ‘avoid’) and have reallocated this time to getting back on the bike.

This morning was perfect for a long-awaited cycle to work

This morning was perfect for a return to cycling

This week I commuted to work twice by bike and noticed that it is not only our personal lives which have changed dramatically over the last 6 weeks. Summer appears to have turned to Winter, the clocks have changed, the days are shorter, the temperature has plummeted and for all of this I have had no breaking-in period. I was gasping my way up the hills feeling a lack of fitness in my legs and a disgusting burning taste in the back of my throat, before grimacing my way back down chilled to the bones and feeling like a bit of a wimp.

When your colleagues are complaining about having to scrape ice off their windscreens you can join in my saying you had to defrost your beard when you arrived this morning

When your colleagues are complaining about having to scrape ice off their windscreens you can still join in this conversation by saying you had to defrost your beard when you arrived

I’ve also been seeing a physio once a week to try and restore my lower back. Sitting down at work, sitting down in the car and cycling have all contributed to a tight lower back and thighs and a lack of ‘gluteal’ muscles. For years my wife has joked that I don’t actually have a bum but to have it confirmed by a medical expert made her day. Being massaged for half an hour sounds like an enjoyable experience, but it turns out to be an expensive form of torture. The only way to get through each session is to repeat the mantra that if it hurts it must be doing some good. And to yelp like a little girl if it gets too much!

The best way to combat shorter days is to work less hours

The best way to combat shorter days is to work less hours – seems only fair

My plan leading up to Christmas is to find the best balance between work, cycling and family. With the available hours for cycling getting ever shorter, and the cutest little baby back at the house, it seems that work may need to stick to the back-burners for now.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2013 12:07 am

    It gets easier before you know it brother.

  2. November 14, 2013 12:41 am

    I never like masseurs who hurt me. Find one with a nice machine that does it painlessly.

    • November 16, 2013 1:59 pm

      For all the pain, I always feel a restored man afterwards.

      • November 16, 2013 9:49 pm

        I’m glad. I have been damaged by over enthusiastic pain loving masseurs in my distant past when I was almost an athlete.

  3. November 14, 2013 2:45 am

    This brings back “cycling with new baby memories”. Three weeks after my boy was born I was to ride my first 200km sojourn. I did it with my brother and I remember as we were lining up at the start line at 6am turning around and saying to him “I am f#@ked alread”. Haha it was a long day, but the bike with new baby is a good balance if the third bit of work allows for it.

    • November 16, 2013 2:00 pm

      I know where you’re coming from – last week I’d planned to cycle to work twice, but both times I was too exhausted from a long night without much sleep. However things seem to be settling down now

Trackbacks

  1. How To Cycle Your Way To A Great Butt… « Fit Recovery

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 151 other followers

