Skip to content

Introducing a new cyclist

May 9, 2014

This week I had the pleasure of introducing somebody to cycling. The ride had been several months in the planning, with lots of research and preparation into the appropriate equipment. However, before we could embark I set this newbie one strict requirement: no cycling until you can sit up by yourself.

Ok, now you're just showing off

Ok, now you’re just showing off

With the necessary strength training completed, the only thing left was to carb-load for our epic ride. Spaghetti was the obvious choice. Not only does it provide the essential glycogen to the muscles, it’s also good fun.

"Are you really letting me loose on this bowl of pasta? More fool you, Daddy!"

“Are you really letting me loose on this bowl of pasta? More fool you!”

"Carb-loading should be enjoyable"

Carb-loading like a champ

My only advice to this novice was to have fun, but do it safely so your mother doesn’t worry. So we killed two birds with one stone and headed to the city to buy a helmet and to have lunch with Mum. At the cycle shop I stood her in front of a row of helmets. She could have chosen blue, green, yellow … but in one bold move she leaned forward and pulled the pink one off the shelf. If she ever has a younger brother then this potential hand-me-down was not my decision!

Mum approves :)

Mum approves 

After lunch we headed home for our epic ride. I’d planned a testing 1 & 1/2 mile loop of the village.

Ok, I'm ready. Let's go!

Ok, I’ve been waiting 7 months for this. Let’s go!

A

“I’m not sure my eyes actually need any protection with your fat bum shielding me. I’m just going to drop these sunglasses on the floor…”

"Cruising along in the sun at 9mph is pretty relaxing. I'm just gonna suck my fingers and enjoy myself"

“Cruising along in the sun at 9mph is pretty relaxing. I’m just gonna suck my fingers and enjoy myself”

Rehydrating at the end of our epic ride

Rehydrating at the end of our epic ride

This was a positive first introduction to cycling and after months of planning and preparation (not to mention spending on equipment) it was a great relief that it went so smoothly.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2014 9:02 pm

    Bless! So precious :-)

  2. May 9, 2014 9:53 pm

    Welcome to the club sunshine! Congratulations brother.

  3. May 9, 2014 10:30 pm

    Awesome post. Made me smile. Lots of Daddy and Daughter rides to come by the looks of it

  4. bakublue permalink
    May 9, 2014 11:21 pm

    Miss Cool!

  5. May 9, 2014 11:24 pm

    Brilliant.

  6. saltyvelo permalink
    May 10, 2014 12:28 am

    Love it!

Trackbacks

  1. Happy 3rd Cycling Anniversary: It’s Been A Big Week… Cycling and Sobriety « Fit Recovery

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 150 other followers

