‘Belgian Toothpaste’

I went out for a little ride today. I needed to get down to Cheddar and the Sustrans site showed that Route 26 would serve me well. Known as the ‘Strawberry Line’ and billed as traffic-free I was eager to try it out. What I didn’t realise is that it is part gravel pathway and part mud. On a day like today – lots of mud. My bike and back were completely caked in mud and this shot taken early on shows the mud lurgy beginning to spread onto my chest and face.

By the time I got back the bike, clothes and rider were all in serious need of a wash. But my mud-encounter was nothing compared to this epic Merckx picture courtesy of Velominati.

Merckx hiding somewhere beneath some mud

4 thoughts on “‘Belgian Toothpaste’

Leave a Reply

