Parkrun – second attempt

At some point on Friday night, Ms BikeVCar and I agreed to set the alarm clock and get up the next morning for a second attempt at the Ashton Court Parkrun 5km race.

I seem to have developed an addiction to Strava over the last few weeks and so found myself stood at the start line with my Garmin in hand eager to log my run. If anyone wants to share their Strava addictions then feel free to link with me.

The Ashton Court 5k run is an out-and-back with the halfway point at the top of a hill.  This means 2.5km of busting a gut uphill followed by 2.5km of busting your knees going down.

I paced myself by my heart rate trying not to top 180 bpm until the final finish. This resulted in sub-22 minutes and beating my last attempt by nearly 30 seconds. I hadn’t done much running since then so it’s good to know that the miles on the bike have improved my overall fitness.

Ashton Court Parkrun Elevation

My pace - slightly faster downhill with the turning speed of a juggernaut at halfway

Sticking to 180 bpm with a heart-busting finish

From the finish line we walked to a cafe in Clifton for breakfast. The essential part of our fitness regime is to take on essential calories as soon as the exercise is over. 😉 Three breakfasts between two followed by an afternoon nap seemed to greatly assist recovery. Hopefully it will be less than 2 months before our third attempt …

Breakfast in Clifton - mostly we were looking at the healthy vegetable stall while scoffing bacon & pancakes

One thought on “Parkrun – second attempt

Leave a Reply

