A casual glance

As I progress into my second year of cycling I can feel my confidence growing, both on the road and around other cycle people. My rides are nearly all private pain sessions, but on occasion I will stop to share a word with a fellow King of the Lycra. However I have recently begun to notice that these other cyclists cannot help themselves from taking a few surreptitious downwards glances while talking.

I assume they are checking out my steed, which admittedly isn’t the finest machine on the market but has done the job of giving me the cycle bug. However, a symptom of this bug appears to manifest itself as a constant itch to buy a better bike. It may only be a matter of time before I take the plunge. I think Rule 12 from Velominati’s Rules of Cycling explains the problem best:

Rule #12

The correct number of bikes to own is n+1.

While the minimum number of bikes one should own is three, the correct number is n+1, where n is the number of bikes currently owned. This equation may also be re-written as s-1, where s is the number of bikes owned that would result in separation from your partner.

 

Fortunately I do technically have the use of two bikes and will be borrowing Pete’s lightweight Fuji bike again this weekend to ride a 75 mile sportive in Kent with a few friends. And during the day I may even be making a few casual downwards glances myself …

Showing the strains of Rosedale Chimney Bank on Pete's lightweight Fuji bike

One thought on “A casual glance

  1. bgddyjim says:

    Brother, it never ends. I’ve got the ride of my dreams – full carbon, Ultegra all the way around… Of course I had to get a new helmet, then a new competition saddle (that’s awesome and worth every penny btw), next up is new Ultegra pedals (of course, they have to match) and shoes – at roughly $350-$400… And my bike’s 13 years old, so when I want to get a new one I can’t go down to 105’s, so that’s gonna be another $6,000.

    On the other hand, riding sure is fun, isn’t it?

    Great post brother. Thanks for the chuckle.

Leave a Reply

