Managing expectations

My plan for this weekend had been to try and ride 60 miles three days in a row as preparation for the Tour of Wessex where I’ll need to ride over 100 miles on three consecutive days.

For a number of reasons things didn’t quite go to plan but there were also some positives so I thought I’d analyse the results.

  • Day 1 – 35 miles ridden, 1242 metres climbed, 2 hours 42 minutes (including 16 minutes stop time)
  • Day 2 – 60 miles ridden, 880 metres climbed, 3 hours 51 minutes (including 15 minutes stop time)
  • Day 2 – 28 miles ridden, 665 metres climbed, 1 hour 52 minutes (including 12 minutes stop time)

Day 1 was cut short by a mechanical issues (broken chain) and Day 3 was cut short due to psychological issues (broken spirit).

Over these three days I covered 37% of the TOW distance and climbed 38% of its ascents.

The rider thinks "10 out of 10 for effort", the Garmin says "3.8 out of 10 for achievement - why have you stopped pedalling?"

On the plus side I learned how to repair a broken chain, and the fairly obvious fact that three long days of cycling is very hard work. I also made it home on Sunday to catch the last hour of Paris-Roubaix, the race distance being further than my 3 days added together but over extremely poor terrain. Just incase the pro teams come knocking, I will try and remember not to enter that event next year!

5 thoughts on “Managing expectations

    • jerzak80 says:

      Thanks for the award. Your support is much appreciated. The requirements of the award are pretty onerous so it might take me a while to pass it on though!

      • bgddyjim says:

        Brother, I know – I’ve gotten three and I’m getting to a point where there’s like ten seconds of “awesome” followed by an hour of “crap, how am I gonna get THAT done”. Last two I woke up at 3 am to get to the office at 4:30 to get the work of it done.

        Don’t sweat the work part of it, I just sent it to you so you’d know I think you write well and I enjoy reading your blog. It’s all good.

  1. bgddyjim says:

    You asked about the battery life on my iPhone in a comment the other day – I just got back from a 35.5 mile ride that took 1:51:14 – With Endomondo running in the background (I hit the standby button to keep the screen off and only had my phone and email running in the background as well), my phone only used 13% of it’s battery life – I started out at 80% and got back with 67%. Hope the info helps, if you have any questions let me know – I hit the “notify me of follow-up comments” button.

Leave a Reply

