Wet feet – a bodged solution

If you live anywhere in the Northern hemisphere you will be aware that the months of May, June and July are commonly known as ‘Summer’ due to the tilt of the Earth’s axis providing an increased exposure to direct sunlight; that is unless you live in England where it’s been raining cats and dogs for the last three months. Sick of cycling to work with squelchy, sodden feet and in fear of getting trench foot, today I decided that extreme weather requires extreme solutions. Seeing a plumber applying some silicone sealant I had an idea and asked him to squeeze a bit of ‘spadge’ into the air vents in the soles of my cycling shoes.

Soles of cycling shoes in the pre-silicone era (note the gaping air vents)

Freshly-spadged cycling shoes

It worked a treat and kept my feet slightly-dryer-than-sodden on my cycle home. I had been flirting with the idea of buying a new pair of shoes, but it seemed a crime on my feet to buy a crap pair just for commuting and seemed frivolous to buy an expensive pair before the current ones wore out. It’s always nice to come up with a bodge rather than having to spend hard-earned cash to solve problems. No doubt we will now get a heat wave and I’ll be picking out the silicone to allow my sweaty feet to breathe.

Leave a Reply

