Laughing (through tears) in the face of gruesome headwinds

There’s a fine line between bravery and stupidity and choosing to go out cycling for a couple of hours in the foulest of weather would not conventionally be considered to be brave. However, with the UK suffering from a frustratingly prolonged Winter there isn’t really much of an option at the moment.

My work situation has recently changed so I no longer have my daily commute to rely on for cycling mileage. However my time is now more flexible which can present opportune windows for mid-week cycle rides. I had earmarked Friday morning as time for a three hour hilly ride and wasn’t about to change my mind just because howling winds and driving rain woke me before dawn.

After a long and cold Winter we are unfortunately again suffering from heavy rains and flooding. The roads are absolutely foul – mud, puddles, gravel and potholes everywhere and completely unsuitable for a decent bike. Thick socks, waterproof cycling shoes, leggings and mudguards are still the order of the day.

Sporting the wooly sock look with pride

Sporting the wooly-sock look with pride

Flooded roads

Flooded roads

After a few miles at flooded lower levels I climbed my way to the top of the Mendip Hills. The wind was vicious and hardly ever favourable. I was leaning heavily into crosswinds (momentarily losing balance whenever a hedge cut out the wind) and then had to laugh when a full-on headwind limited my speed on a descent to 9 mph. I seriously contemplated turning back but realised I’d never escape the dastardly wind so ploughed on, letting out irregular gasps of despair through gritted-teeth.

A grizzly morning

A grizzly morning

Mucky roads

Mucky roads

Even muckier roads

Even muckier roads

Mucky bike

Mucky bike

I was hoping to ride for 3 hours, but when conditions are this unfavourable (and you’ve long-lost the feeling in fingers and toes) then sometimes you have to know when to call it a day. After covering just 27 miles in two long hours, I headed home, showered, ate a hearty breakfast of poached eggs (3), muffins (2) and chocolate brownies (4), and then headed out for a long day of meetings. At least the good thing about cycling is being that skinny bloke scoffing all the biscuits in every meeting.

12 thoughts on “Laughing (through tears) in the face of gruesome headwinds

  1. bgddyjim says:

    Ah yes, I so love those jealous glares, the wry comments… When a 300 pounder looks at me with disdain – and asks, “why do YOU get to eat like that”? Then you ask him to suffer through 40 km winds on a two hour ride – FOR FUN and he looks at you like you’re insane…

Leave a Reply

