Park & Ride

I’ve been on a new project for a couple of months now. The commute’s a lot further than my previous site, and at 34 miles each way it’s too far to commute by bicycle. I’ve ridden the full route once but the amount of time it takes requires fair weather and a very quiet day at work, things which rarely seem to arrive together. Fortunately I’ve discovered a Park & Ride facility along the route.

a

Park …

& Ride ... early morning in Bath

& Ride … early morning cycle through the city of Bath

Whilst the facility essentially exists to reduce the number of cars looking for parking within the city centre, the website positively encourages cyclists to park their cars for free and complete the rest of their journey by bicycle. It just happens that this particular cyclist completes his journey by cycling 18 miles beyond the city. 

Or don't pay at all if you cycle

Or don’t pay at all if you cycle

From Bath there’s a long climb out of the city, almost 2 miles of constant uphill. But from there I’ve found a relatively direct route along quiet B-roads and country lanes. And the return journey obviously involves a rewarding, long descent to the city. 

The looming hill

The looming hills await each morning

I'm not quite sure what makes a regular country lane a "cycleway", but part of my route is along one

I’m not quite sure what makes a regular country lane a “cycleway”, but part of my route is along one

Free Park & Rides are a boon to commuting cyclists. I plan to make good use of this one.

6 thoughts on “Park & Ride

  1. tootlepedal says:

    What make a cycle route? A little blue sign of course. It’s one of my beefs with Sustrans that they think that putting a sign up makes a cycle route. (They do many good things though.)

  2. bgddyjim says:

    By the way, I got to thinking about the premise for your blog… I’m thinking that rather than mileage you should go by time… You’re currently unfairly weighted when it comes to the vehicle. Noble for certain, but unfair nonetheless.

  3. AndrewGills says:

    How awesome. We have some informal park n rides about 15-20km from Brisbane city that cyclists use to ride the bikeways into the city. (Not me though bc I don’t work in the city). Great that you can still find a way to get your riding in 🙂

Leave a Reply

