I rode my bike and I liked it

This week I experienced a cycling epiphany. Returning home from work on a fine, Spring afternoon, it suddenly struck me that cycling can be pleasurable. After surviving the wettest Winter on record, experiencing the terror of strong gusting winds, shouting in pain against face-fulls of hailstones and having to confine all of my cycling to commuting in the dark for the last few months, it was a revelation to rediscover the pleasure of the bike. It may be a little early for Spring, but the days are long enough to commute in daylight rather than turning those invisible pedals in the darkness. Let’s hope those punishing Winter commutes will provide enough fitness to enjoy the forthcoming pleasurable cycling …

 

5 thoughts on “I rode my bike and I liked it

Leave a Reply

