Farewell old friend

After 10,000+ miles and many happy years together I decided it was time to bid farewell to my oldest bike. I wasn’t being forced to implement  the S-1 Rule where my total number of bikes was causing matrimonial disharmony, it was purely to free up a bit of space at home and because the old fella wasn’t getting any miles these days. I felt sad seeing him collecting dust and cobwebs in the back corner of the shed and thought he’d be better served as a starter bike or winter hack for another cyclist. The fact that old bikes seem to hold their value on eBay was an added incentive.

A

eBay selling photo

I took the time to give the bike a thorough clean, and then probably went above-and-beyond the call of duty by dismantled the head-set to clean and re-grease it. The last time I’d ridden the bike was a rainy day and the headset had spluttered rusty gooze over the top tube. I didn’t want the buyer to think they’d bought a lemon if the same thing happened to them, so it gave me peace of mind to fix the problem.

Buyer beware

Buyer beware – the brand name has worn away from the side of the saddle. Which isn’t the original saddle that came with the bike. This bike clearly has some miles in it

a

I made sure to include photos of wear to forewarn potential buyers

With 5 days to go, bidding is already fierce so I’m expecting to recoup some of the expense that’s gone into this bike. If I still lived in a city I think it would be handy to have a number 3 bike for locking and leaving without worrying too much. But living out in the sticks, it would appear that the correct number of bikes to own is 2. One carbon-fibre bike for training and racing, and one steel frame bike with mudguards and rack for winter riding, baby-carrying and errand running. However … I’m not completely ruling out the possibility that the freed up space in the shed could be nicely filled by a shiny new bike.

8 thoughts on “Farewell old friend

  1. Haydn Jones says:

    Farewell ye ole’ faithful! Your posts regarding the Virtuoso were some of the first and best I read when searching for info before I bought mine (my first road bike). Thanks for all the info and experience you had with it – I’m now hooked! 🙂

    I’ve not replaced it yet (probably won’t until next year) and have covered ~420 miles so far (work commuting) since June. I’ve not replaced anything (yet!) nor have I needed to, but some better tyres will be on the cards this winter probably followed by some wheels!

    I really should start my own blog and continue to fly the Virtuoso flag!

    • bikevcar says:

      Thanks, hopefully it will get another new rider hooked when it gets sold this weekend. I’ll let you know the final price it reaches. I definitely agree that tyres should be the first replacement – if you plan to ride through the winter maybe 25 or 28mm tyres with some decent grip. I reckon I got a few thousand miles out of the wheels before I started getting trouble with the bearings and spokes.

      • Haydn Jones says:

        I’ve fitted Crud ‘Roadracer mk2’ mudguards to mine and they would leave no clearance for 25mm or larger tyres. My commute is along inner-city roads (with no hills!) so grip shouldn’t be a problem unless we get lots of ice… I’m probably going Michelin Pro 4 Endurance for tyres – they will have more grip and be a much better tyre than the Kenda tyres it came with!

        Goodluck to the new owner, I hope they realise their new bike is famous! Not a bad selling price… You’ve now got me thinking! 😉

Leave a Reply

