On the (indoor) road to recovery

After 6 weeks of pain I made a tentative return to cycling this week; unfortunately not being quite recovered enough to do more than 20 minutes on the turbo trainer. Despite my usual reluctance to use the dreaded contraption, I actually enjoyed it and was pleased that my body reacted ok with nothing more than a bit of muscle tightness for a couple of days afterwards.

a

20 minutes on the bike, 30 minutes off the bike fiddling around with bits of equipment 

It felt great to be strong enough to do something more strenuous than rolling on a foam roller. Although I had been been doing that strenuously and often enough to wear out my wife’s old styrofoam roller and had to splurge on one of those expensive rigid rollers as a replacement. I bought one in hot pink by way of apology as this is my wife’s favourite colour. On top of this I been attending weekly pilates classes on my quest to become a bit more flexible. Unfortunately, by spending most of my time looking after a baby, rolling on a pink roller and attending pilates classes I was beginning to question my masculinity. So it’s nice to get back to something close to resembling normal service.

8 thoughts on “On the (indoor) road to recovery

Leave a Reply

