A final sting in the tail of 2014

For me, 2014 seemed to be a year of many injuries and illnesses and I had been looking forward to starting afresh in 2015. By the end of December I’d recovered from my last setback and was slowly rebuilding my fitness. To encourage me to do a little Winter cross-training off the bike I’d even set myself a goal of running a half marathon at the start of March. So when I was rushed to hospital on December 30th to have an emergency operation to remove my appendix, I couldn’t help hoping that this blow was the final sting in the tail from a cruel year. The silver lining was that I was discharged from hospital the next day and was at home with my family to see in the new year.

New Years Eve morning and I already had three bottles on the go!

New Years Eve morning and I already had three bottles on the go!

Fortunately they managed to remove the appendix by keyhole surgery which should hopefully lead to a quicker recovery time. And so I find myself limping into 2015 in the hope that the new year will be kinder on my body. At least it’s a good time of year to be wrapped up in bed watching old DVD’s and drinking hot cups of tea.

9 thoughts on “A final sting in the tail of 2014

Leave a Reply

