Absence makes the heart grow fonder … or maybe it just makes you forget the pain

The local roads seem to be swarming in cyclists at the moment. I’ve been on the mend from surgery and not cycling, so maybe my perception has been slightly warped as I notice and envy every cyclist I see. But I think it’s more likely down to the ever-increasing popularity of cycling combined with New Years fitness resolutions. I’m all in favour of increasing cycling participation: the more who do it, the more normal it becomes and the more likely it will be for non-cyclists to have close friends and family who cycle. And you would hope when these non-cyclists are behind the wheel of their cars or vans, they might be a little more careful and courteous to cyclists. I guess there are a few other barriers to harmony on the roads, such as rude cyclists and obscene amounts of lycra, but at least this strength-in-numbers approach is a good start. On most of my own rides I usually confront a driver when it was me who made the mistake and then return home to look in the mirror and think “WTF am I wearing?!”

"Smile for the camera .... ok, well at least try not to look completely pissed off"

“Smile for the camera …. ok, well at least try not to look completely pissed off”

This weekend I headed out for my first ride of the year. It was cold and windy and I immediately found myself wondering what I’d been missing so much. Absence may make the heart grow fonder, but I think injury and illness can make you a bit deluded. I kept thinking: “I’d be enjoying this a lot more if it was sunny and I was fit.” It’s difficult finding a window to get out and ride at this time of year. The roads are icy in the mornings and it gets dark late afternoon. Plus we have a small human child and a crumbly house which are both in constant need of my time and energy. And certainly more deserving of my time than riding around in circles dressed like Peter Pan. Peter Pan was definitely a cyclist, prancing around in those stretchy trousers and never growing up. Anyway, at least the benefit of cycling is that it’s relatively low overhead time-wise when compared to other sports. When you get a small window of opportunity you can just race out the door and do your thing for as long as you’ve got.

Litte cold bike on the hills

Litte cold bike on the hills

Cold, wet, windy, dark and muddy. The perfect ride

Cold, wet, windy, dark and muddy. The perfect ride

I decided to do a ride of two halves, firstly a flat lap of the lake and then a climb up into the hills. This is then capped off with an enjoyable long descent home … so it’s technically a ride of three halves. I’ve been riding the turbo trainer a little bit lately as part of my rehab and it’s helped me to feel the difference in efficiency between a beautiful, smooth and fast pedaling speed and my own slow, cumbersome pedal-mashing technique. The French call it ‘souplesse’, a fluid and even technique. I might be able to say it, but I can’t do it. Anyway, I kept the cadence sensor on my bike and tried to translate some of this into reality on the roads. It’s pretty hilly around these parts which can quickly kill momentum. Plus I quite like getting out of the saddle on a climb, but I did find it helped my stamina to keep the legs spinning quickly … at least when I remembered. Once up on the hills I thought I’d finally found my sweet-spot, souplesse Nirvana as I flew along at speed for several miles without feeling pain or tiredness. Unfortunately it turned out to be a tail-wind! It doesn’t matter how many times this happens, it still fools me every time. Ah well … it was a beautiful tailwind and with a long and sweeping descent home, at least I realised what I’d been missing so much.

2 thoughts on “Absence makes the heart grow fonder … or maybe it just makes you forget the pain

  1. tootlepedal says:

    It is all to easy to suppose that you are a cycling hero until turning into the wind tells you the truth. I am waiting to get back on my bike so although it was cold and nasty, I still envy you.

Leave a Reply

