Long rides or short rides: a matter of perspective

Several times this year I’ve headed out with the intention of riding 50 miles but have ended up doing 30. Partly because I keep underestimating how long it takes to ride 50 miles, especially at this time of year. And partly because the winter weather gets the better of me after two cold hours in the saddle.

a

Up on the grey and threatening hills

a

Glimpses of Spring 

Cycling’s a funny hobby – how did it make me think two hours of exercise is a short workout? When I play football, or run, or go to the gym I never do it for more than two hours. Often for much shorter, depending on whether I get tired, substituted or sent off. However, one of the benefits of cycling is that you can be fairly flexible with your timing and do it when you have an opportunity. Plus there’s no travel time, you just ride from the front door for as long as you’ve got. I’m sure when the weather improves and life gets less busy I’ll find the time to ride for longer.

Today was one of those classic English drizzle days. Too warm to wear a rain coat and too wet to go without. I stopped a few times to take it off, put it back on, take it off, etc.  I may have only ridden 30 miles but I made sure to include a good climb. Two miles of constant climbing in warm drizzle wearing too many layers resulted in a boil-in-the bag effect. This was followed by several miles of cold sweat, the sort of feeling you associate with having a fever. It was somewhere in the midst of this unpleasantness that I thought, bugger this I’m going home for a cup of tea.

a

Doing the rain coat dance 

I think it’s just a matter of perspective. Two hours of exercise at this time of year is good enough for me. I’ll save my long rides for the summer when you ride for longer because it’s enjoyable.

3 thoughts on “Long rides or short rides: a matter of perspective

  1. Haydn Jones says:

    I’ve grown so tired of the ‘boil in the bag’ effect I either wear my full jacket for the whole ride (high-viz and used for commuting anyway – arm vents are a blessing!), or a windproof jersey (semi-shower proof too) with ‘NoRain’ arm and leg warmers (which are easily added/removed and don’t have the same boil effect). If caught in a shower I find with cycling attires wicking properties I don’t stay damp for long! 🙂

Leave a Reply

