My cycling season has finally begun

If you want to ride your bike on a regular basis, don’t have a child, start your own business or embark on a home refurbishment project. And especially don’t do them all at the same time. Only an idiot would do that. Anyway, this particular idiot has finally complete the refurb project and so took the opportunity to go for a long ride today. 70 miles to be precise. Continuing the theme of biting off more than I can chew, I’ve signed up to do a 100 mile sportive in a couple of weeks time with an old mate so thought I’d better condition my bum to endless hours on a saddle. I’m generally not so interested in sportives these days, but they can be a good reason to meet old cycling friends who live in different parts of the country so thought I’d sign up. This will be the first time I’ve ridden 100 miles in about 2 years so I’m looking forward to the challenge.

I was putting my bike back in the shed with my toddler daughter when she spotted the bike she’ll hopefully be learning to ride on one day. She seemed pretty keen to have a go but couldn’t reach the pedals yet. I think I’ve still got a few months before I need to fit the stabilisers.

a

She seemed very adroit at eating a biscuit while sat on the bike – a key still for long distance cycling! 

4 thoughts on “My cycling season has finally begun

  1. Haydn 'Roady' Jones says:

    Wow she’s growing fast! Won’t be long and she will be out on that bike! Although it seems to be missing the basket on the front (biscuit carrier)?

    Good to hear the ride went well (no horror story!) hope you’ve done a few more in the fantastic weather we’ve had! Fingers crossed for the summer 😀

  2. hilarydavies says:

    Fab bike! What about a nice loud bell?! Glad to hear that phase 1.1 of the refurb is all done and hope the client will give you some time off to ride/train. Pete is looking forward to rides with you over here too.

Leave a Reply

