One way traffic

Family BikeVCar went on holiday to Wales this week. Pembrokeshire to be exact. Coming from the outskirts of Wells in Somerset, most of our journey was accompanied by the sounds of our toddler daughter’s mantra: “Not goin’ Welz … goin’ Way-Uls”

"Where's my bike?"

“Where’s my bike?”

Whilst there’s been a significant drop in my cycling mileage over the last 2 years (and let’s not even mention the significant increase in car miles …. nor my very recent acquisition of a new “family car”), there has however been an enjoyable last few weeks watching a new cyclist arrive on the scene.

Look out cat!

Look out cat!

This has resulted in needing to make space in the shed for a new bike – obviously it was some superfluous gardening equipment that met the chop. I’ll gladly have a jungle for a back garden if it means I can still get out and cycle at the weekends.

New addition to the bike shed

New little addition to the shed, threaded through the Merckx 

I set up the little bike and stabilisers on my flat workshop floor. It was a textbook novice-Dad manoeuvre: as soon as she encountered some uneven ground the rear wheel spun in the air like she was riding a turbo trainer. Before I’d had a real chance to contemplate the possibility of setting up the bike as an indoor trainer during the coming winter months, she started shouting to come and rescue her. Initiative test number 1 – go fix it yourself:

Making a few minor adjustments

Making a few minor adjustments to some incompetent Dadsmanship 

Anyway, holidays are a time to try new things. So Mum had time to relax. Little Miss showed off on a trike . . .

Holiday bicycle

“I go this way” 

. . . and I found some time to squeeze in a few decent length rides. With beautiful weather, the coast of Pembrokeshire to explore and a toddler who requires an afternoon nap, I had a brainwave: one-way cycling. If we went out as a family for the morning I rode home. And if we were going out for the afternoon I set off after lunch and met them there.

Exploring the Welsh countryside

Exploring the Welsh countryside: castles, hills, sheep and more hills 

Even compared to Somerset and Southwest England, the roads were quiet. And the idea of one-way riding allowed me to squeeze in 100 miles of cycling over a weeklong family holiday without being too selfish.

Seaside towns - the beautiful views are just about worth the effort

Seaside towns – beautiful descents, tough escapes 

The coastal roads were stunning. Although the hills and the winds made for some challenging cycling too. I took the steel frame bike so that I could attach the baby seat for local rides. This added an extra element to the challenge. But, after all – it was a holiday so I mostly ignored my average speeds and just enjoyed the beautiful weather and the change of scenery.

We lucked out with the weather

We certainly lucked-out with the weather 

7 thoughts on “One way traffic

Leave a Reply

