More of the same

“Another very cold day with biting easterly winds” was how the weather was forecast today. It wasn’t wrong. I also woke with a biting headache after a Saturday night out with an old friend, so today’s ride was not a long affair. Getting kitted up in an uncomfortable mass of clothing and heading out into the freezing and windy conditions banished my hangover but didn’t feel like it was doing much for my fitness or cycling.

I had taken the favoured bike in for an annual service last week. It needed a new chain, cassette and cables. While I’m happy to bodge the maintenance of my commuter bike, I prefer to trust this one to the experts. Despite the nasty weather, it was dry today so I decided to test out its new equipment.

New equipment

New equipment

I left the bike waiting on the door step while I contemplated chickening out

I left the bike waiting on the door step while trying to think of a good reason not to go out

There’s not much to say about the ride. It was slow and really hard work. I did a half hour loop of the lake and then climbed up onto the hills for an hour of cycling in the wind.

The sheep didn't seem too worried about the weather

The sheep didn’t seem too worried about the weather

IMG_1281 IMG_1284 IMG_1283 IMG_1280 IMG_1285

My fingers froze again through the thickest gloves

My fingers froze again through the thickest gloves

At the end of 90 minutes fighting and ready for a nice hot cup of tea. Roll on Spring ...

At the end of 90 minutes fighting and ready for a nice hot cup of tea. Roll on Spring

 

13 thoughts on “More of the same

  1. grrgoyl says:

    Greetings! I’m new to WordPress, though not to blogging. I love cycling and stumbled on you. I greatly admire your dedication and goal. I live in Colorado USA and last year vowed “never again” on a particularly miserable, blustery day. I now eagerly await the warmer weather to begin again. I laughed at “trying to think of a good reason not to go out,” that’s me all over, although I always forget how happy I am once I get there and how I never regret going. Also, our bikes have the same color scheme 🙂 Keep up the good work, love reading about your travels so far!

    Elaine

  2. Sandra says:

    by the way, I use barmitts and I tell you what, in wind chills in the teens (F), my hands were sweating with lighweight gloves on under the bar mitts.

Leave a Reply

