Garmin battery replacement

I recently replaced the battery in my Garmin 800. It’s 3 or 4 years old and the battery life was down to about 2 hours between charges. Not exactly fit for purpose any more. Sending the unit to Garmin to have the battery replaced was obviously extortionate so I decided to buy a battery online for about £10 and do it myself. It was surprisingly straightforward and I found several online tutorials on Youtube to guide me through the steps. I took a few photos along the way in case I forgot how something was attached.

Unit dismantled

Unit dismantled

New battery installed - power on

New battery installed – power on

The unit has a touch-screen but this is just a simple internal attachment. It took about 10 minutes to complete the changeover and has breathed new life into my old unit. Here’s to another few years of use hopefully. Although with Winter looming and the clocks going back, the prospect of rides over 2 hours for the next few months are not necessarily looking too promising…

Renewed unit

Renewed unit

One thought on “Garmin battery replacement

Leave a Reply

