A fortnight in France

After two weeks in France we’ll be heading home tomorrow, saying au-revoir to freshly baked croissants for breakfast, fantastic wine almost any time of day and glorious weather. And from a cycling perspective I’ll be sad to see the end of quiet roads, smooth tarmac and generous drivers. In two weeks I’d be hard pushed to remember a pothole or aggressive driver.

IMG_2625

This past week we’ve been enjoying a more relaxed pace of life in Les Sables d’Olonnes, heading out to the beach every day along the extensive bike paths.

IMG_2681

Bike & Baguette – when in Rome … 

Previously we stopped for a couple of days in Bordeaux for a mid-holiday city break. My wife went shopping, I toured the city using their ‘V3’ bike-share scheme.

IMG_2579

I tried, but unfortunately not even graffiti can make a bike & basket look cool! 

Our first week in France was spent in Provence in the foothills of Mont Ventoux. It was mostly a relaxing week spent by the poolside or out having long lunches in the various market towns. But of course I found the time to have a couple of climbs up the infamous ‘Geant de Provence’.

IMG_2393

Hot climbing in Provence

And prior to our two week family holiday I managed to sneak in 3 days by myself in the Alps, climbing as much as my legs could handle – 23,000ft as it turned out.

IMG_2283

Cold climbing in the Alps 

In total I’ve ridden over 400 miles over the last 2 & 1/2 weeks, about 50 of these were family rides with a toddler on the back on the back of the bike. The only dampener on the holiday is that we’re heading home a couple of days early having been forced to change our return travel plans due to blockades, dock-worker strikes and fuel shortages in Northern France. But hey, no country’s perfect …

IMG_2566

Peppa Pig goes by bike … due to blockades, strikes and fuel shortages (the adapted French version) 

 

5 thoughts on “A fortnight in France

  1. bakublue says:

    Excellent read. Sounds like you had a brilliant time. 23,000 feet! You’ll have to try Mt Everest next trip (29,000 feet) as we know you like a challenge. 😉

    • bikevcar says:

      Ha ha, thanks. I hear Everest is a fairly well-trodden path these days but I reckon I’ll wait for the Tarmac to be laid to the top before I try!!

  2. bgddyjim says:

    Gotta love the rides with the family! One of the few times I can just relax and be happy to be out no matter what the pace.

    Safe journeys… And happy cycling anniversary, brother.

  3. Sheree says:

    Sounds like you had a great time and I’m sorry you had to return early because of the effects of the current bout of industrial action.

Leave a Reply

