Stuck in a bathroom

For the last three weeks I have been away from home doing the complete refurbishment of a friend’s bathroom. I have worked long days taking on a variety of roles, including plumber, electrician, plasterer, tiler, carpenter and decorator. It has been physically and mentally demanding to do the work and overcome a series of challenges but everyone is pleased with the end result which makes it all worthwhile.

I have a job interview in Bristol on Monday which should hopefully be a job that allows me to cycle commute and spend more time with my wife. But I thought I’d do a short post to explain the recent lack of blogging and to showcase a few photos of the bathroom from start to finish.

Before

Before

New ceiling with recessed downlights

Caught eating a sandwich on the toilet - not a classy look!

Bath pipework and recessed shower control unit

"The grouting finger"

Completion - vanity unit with sink and WC

Completion - bath, bath screen and sage metro tiles

Completion - vanity unit, mirror, wall unit and ceiling

Completion - shower and new door hung on opposite side of frame

Completion - sink, bath and mirror

Completion - shower

Completion - heated towel rail and floor tiles

14 thoughts on “Stuck in a bathroom

  1. Pa says:

    At first viewing I assumed the initial phographs were of your handiwork and I thought it all looked a bit old fashioned and poorly finished. Then realised I was looking at the before photos! The after photos are indeed splendid. Good job. When are you next coming down here – with your tool box of course?

  2. Em says:

    We LOVE our new bathroom. What a team we make; me the designer and you builder/plumber/electrician/decorator. Very impressed with all your skills. I love showing it off.
    We’ve a job list drawn up for your return – only joking!! Thank you……

  3. Karen says:

    You won’t believe this. I was searching for some ideas on Victorian tiles. I stumbled across this pin, it looked very similar to my bathroom, and then I realised “it is my bathroom”! I just moved into this house. Great to see it being built, well done, I do like the bathroom, even years later. 🙂

Leave a comment